Second Thoughts

I have been in Seoul since November, that brings my time in Korea up to 6 months and to be honest it feels like I arrived two weeks ago.

Half a year has passed and I have experienced many experiences that I would not have come across in my native Miami, Florida.

My friend Jacky and I have tried so much Korean food, that I now consider myself quite capable at reading a korean menu. I can read korean and understand a lot of it (can’t really speak at all but I’m still proud!). I have become closed to my korean coworkers. I have created bonds with all my wonderful students.

There is so much good that has come from being an English teacher in Seoul. That is not to say that I haven’t felt stressed or unhappy while here (that is another post/thesis in the making). The thing is that I have reached a point where I need to make a decision about whether or not I will be staying another year here in Seoul. In the past two days, I have thought up countless future plans, all of which require me to return to the States. And…the thing is that I am OK with returning home. Like I told my boss, its not because I have a problem with the school or the people I work with. Its about me and my future. Yes, I am young. I am only 21 and I have lots of time ahead of me but that doesn’t mean I should wait to make my dreams come true. That brings us to the topic of dreams and aspirations. I am at a crossroads, more like a fork-road as to what I want to do. I would mention them here but just the thought of listing all of them make me even more pensive and confused as to what I want to do.

I just know that this year teaching English in Seoul has been great. I don’t regret it (at least I don’t now) and I am grateful for the experience it has given me.

Now I just have to do some self-reflection and try to realize my unrealized dream.

Fighting~!

Leave a Reply

