Graduate School Applications: GRE Stress!

Ever since my undergraduate years I have been avoiding the GRE. Looking for other means to an end. Only until this past summer did I realize I couldn’t fight it, not anymore. The GRE would just have to be a part of my life but I didn’t think it would be my life for the past month! GRE preparation has consumed the better half of September and will run through till the end of this month.

I’m sure many of you who have experienced standardized testing can attest to the absurdity of some of the concepts covered in the GRE, namely the quantitative section. I understand that there needs to be some sort of measure of aptitude in order for the admissions committees to look at but for those of us out there that don’t perform very well or that stress indefinitely until the day of the exam, it is torture.

Enough of my rant. Let’s talk about what I have been doing to prepare for the exam. Over the past 5 months I’ve been sporadically using the Kaplan GRE prep book. Alongside that I have been using a couple of free resources both on my cell phone and on my computer. I really enjoyed the following:

Magoosh Vocabulary Flashcards (the app as well)

Pocket GRE Math App (on my phone)

Aside from those I have used Google to just find random free math practice problems. My biggest concern has been the math section of the exam and I might be underestimating the Verbal. But we will see!!!

This is my lazy girl study/prep plan that I’ve been following almost everyday at least for an hour. It may not work for all and I won’t know until Oct. 30 if it worked for me.

Feel free to share any tips and experiences you’ve had with the GRE. I look forward to hearing what you have to say.

Until next time,

Ashley

Leave a Reply

